stay(work)cation: or how I found gratefulness

This week granted me the opportunity to spend time with work-friends from Australia, and a weekend at the Omni Mandalay in Las Colinas for an event I had the privilege to photograph. It unexpectedly became a nice getaway from the house/office. J and I had lots of cuddles and jokes to catch up on after 3+ days, which made coming home much, much sweeter. Have I mentioned how lucky I am to have him? I am.

Photo Aug 01, 5 43 29 PM

lunch with masa + miguel @ the pantry restaurant in downtown mckinney

Photo Aug 02, 9 00 26 AM (1)

morning light at the omni

IMG_4071-1

a glimpse of what the event was like

Photo Aug 02, 1 35 19 PM

my favorite view at the omni

Lately I’ve been overwhelmed with the projects and ambitious tasks I volunteer myself for. It’s made me grumpy and restless, feeling trapped by the opportunities rather than embracing them and allowing myself to feel grateful. Deep down, I know I’m not restless. In fact I’m quite content with where things are headed in my life, but I haven’t granted myself the opportunity to actually enjoy the progress I’ve made personally and professionally. The moment I reach the next step, I’m worrying about how I’m going to get further. Do better. After Day 1 of the event, I walked my tired limbs up to my room that boasted a curved balcony with a striking view of Las Colinas’ busy business district. I made myself some sweet chamomile tea, popped on the history channel, and slipped into my comfy robe from home. Between the view and the robe, gratefulness was inevitable and just a deep breath away. I let it wash over me.

Photo Aug 03, 12 31 24 AM

room with a view

I’m positive I’ll feel unsettled and thankless in the future, I let things get to me more than I should, But I hope I can look back and remember how good it felt to acknowledge the beauty right in front of me. Cliché, but so very true.

Leave a Reply

