getaway: or stop trying to plan out every detail of your life you big dummy

I’m typically an over-analytic planner, but I’ve surprised myself lately and found that the best memories are made on a whim. That’s exactly what happened earlier this year when J + I made a last minute venture down to our dear friend Jordan’s family ranch just outside of Austin. We had no real plans except to raid The Czech Stop on our way there and back. It was a glorious April weekend in Texas. We lazily chatted over coffee in the mornings, while afternoons were spent exploring the wooded acreage and gathering wood from Mesquite trees for an aromatic evening fire. My best friend Alyssa joined us for a day during our getaway and hers is the gorgeous face sprinkled through out these photos. (Love you dearly!)

_MG_8072-1

_MG_8200-1

_MG_8153-1_MG_8147-1

alyssa

_MG_8168-1

cave

_MG_8060-1

home

_MG_8081-1

firemarsh

It was a rejuvenating mini-trip that left us smiling the whole way back to Dallas. I’ve kicked myself for every previous trip I badmouthed because of “poor planning”. I seriously needed to slow it down and take a massive chill pill. That weekend was exactly what I needed, and I’m so thankful for our friends and the joy these little experiences have left in my heart.

Also: Colorado in 3 days. THREE. DAYS. Trying not to mentally plan out everything with this getaway has been tough, but worth it I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

