the everyday vacation

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life you don’t need to escape from.”

Seth Godin

IMG_4954-1

I stopped in my tracks the moment I finished reading that quote. It felt harsh. Like the painful realization of an unhealthy friendship. Or like something an old grandfather would say nonchalantly as he’s reading the morning paper. He’d pause after for effect, and would lift his eyes to yours in a look that says “I know you know better than that.”

While planning is an inherent part of my nature, I have to wonder what I’m missing while I’m off instituting structure in my life. I live in an adorable neighborhood full of charm and quirks yet I don’t take advantage of my ability to walk to the market, or ride my bicycle to the winery and shops. I’ve saturated my schedule so much that it’s now difficult finding time to dedicate to photography. I’ve sacrificed the excitement and joy I feel in every day things for the comfort of routine, which I now desperately want to escape.

Over the last couple of months and countless conversations with friends + coworkers on the subject, I’ve gathered a list of encouraging points that could make you (and me) fall in love with the everyday.

DO THAT THING YOU’VE ALWAYS WANTED TO

Always wanted to make a cheesecake from scratch? Dying to take up yoga? Too timid to take beginning sewing classes with 6 year olds at Jo-Ann Fabrics? Just do it. Confess to yourself what you really want to spend your time doing and go for it. Several months ago I found a little online gem called Skillshare, an online community where you can learn real-world skills from incredible teachers in project-based classes that you can take at your own pace. It’s a pretty incredible system. I recently signed up for the Art of Modern Calligraphy class from the über talented Molly Jacques, I can’t wait to see how it goes!

MAKE A DRASTIC CHANGE

‘Drastic’ is really in the eye of the beholder isn’t it? For me, drastic means rearranging the furniture in the den and changing my kitchen color scheme. Other times it’s meant cutting my own bangs. For you it could mean selling your belongings and moving out of the country, or altering the way you interact with others. Whatever it is bring on the change, after all, “…that’s how change happens. One gesture. One person. One moment at a time.”  [Libba Bray]

SLOW IT DOWN

I notice great changes in my mentality + emotions when I take a few extra minutes to do something. Tasks become more thoughtful, and I certainly notice more. I hate doing laundry, but taking note of the warm fresh-scent of clothes right out of the dryer has become something that leaves a quiet smile on my face.

I hope wherever you are, you begin cultivating a life you love. A gorgeous one filled with Tuesday afternoon giggles and random Sunday bike rides.

3 thoughts on “the everyday vacation

  1. You inspire me. I love the way you take hold of life and dissect it so you can learn, your deep inside thinking, your desire to truly live life to the fullness, your ability to share your doubts and troubles. I wish I had of been more like you when I was your age….

    • I can’t believe I’m the one inspiring you! That means so so much. Sometimes I worry my transparency is going to kick me in the butt. Being an over-analytic person isn’t always peachy! But I do enjoy writing about my fears + struggles + triumphs with others because 90% of the time they’ve experienced something similar.Thank you for reading my silly little blog. xoxoxox

      • I didn’t have the self-confidence to allow myself to share as you do, this wouldn’t allow me to be transparent, therefore I aged in this way. I love how you share your inner self! That’s OK to get kicked in the butt sometimes, the important thing is you are living life as yourself, no pretensions, no wall up. 🙂 Over time, I have learned that most people do have their own struggles, but I did not have that awareness at your age. You naturally have an ability to inspire others. Keep it up!! I look forward to your “silly little” blogs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

