thailand: a reluctant love

I’m so fortunate to be able to travel from time to time for my day job. Each year, the company I work for holds a convention as a pep rally (as J calls it) of sorts for our members. It’s lovely to see our staff from every country come together during a time of celebration and enjoy one another’s company. We we very thankful to be able to extend our stay a couple of extra days to allow for some time to visit a couple of places I’d been daydreaming of. We gathered our group of 5 into two tuk-tuk’s  and headed into the city of squalor.

I’m going to be honest. Bangkok is not the most pleasant place. I adore it, but reluctantly so. The driving is terrifying. Mopeds weave aggressively and almost carelessly through traffic and cars being driven seem to have a life of their own. The humidity and heat leave your clothing soaked, and if you’re lucky enough to catch a gentle breeze the famous Eau de Bangkok scent will catch your olfactory glands and render you nauseous. The air is filled with a horrible mixture of waste, rotting fruit, body odor, and regret. But once you get past that, there’s a lot to enjoy.

 

IMG_8412-1 IMG_8421-1 IMG_8414-1IMG_8430-1 IMG_8436-1 IMG_8448-1 IMG_8449-1 IMG_8450-1 IMG_8451-1 IMG_8452-1 IMG_8453-1 IMG_8458-1 IMG_8459-1 IMG_8463-1 IMG_8471-1 IMG_8477-1

 

I’ve had to learn to make the most of my free time while traveling for work, so this time I created a list of experiences I’d like to have, and it truly was one of the times that my weird control-y neurosis has paid off.

1. visit the golden buddha

2. ride in a tuk-tuk

3. get a fish massage

4. go to the Jim Thompson house and fawn over the gorgeous silk

5. shop till we drop

We nailed that list. Next year, J and I will spend more time in SE Asia, hopefully some time in Phuket or Pattaya near the beach for a much desired solo trip. His charming and easy going nature makes me want to take a million more trips with that silly, bearded man.

2 thoughts on “thailand: a reluctant love

Leave a Reply

